His Love Knows No Bounds | From Latvia to the U.S.

We recently had the opportunity to interview the lovely Anda Maria Spencer. She’s a newlywed to Jeremiah Spencer, the worship leader for Encounter at FBC Thomasville. Anda was adopted at the age of fifteen, along with two of her younger brothers (Arvis & Jakeb), from Latvia by her adoptive family in Live Oak, Florida. We loved reading through Anda’s answers to these questions, as her love for Jesus Christ is undeniable.

Arvis, Yakups, Andra L-3
Anda, Arvis, and Jakeb

 

1. What is your name?
Anda Maria Spencer

2. Where were you born?
Latvia

3. When were you adopted and brought to the United States?
Our adoption process was finalized on August 8th, 2007.

4. What was your first reaction when you found out you were being adopted?
I did not want to come. I have always and will always love my birth country. But now I see how God had it all planned out.

5. How old were you when you were adopted?
I was 15.

6. Can you tell us a little about your childhood in Latvia?
Both of my parents were alcoholics. Therefore, I was placed in and out of family several times until I ended up at the orphanage where New Horizon’s for children interviewed my brothers and I and a family in Live Oak, FL adopted us.

7. Can you tell us a little about how God has used your adoption to positively impact you?Without adoption I really don’t see myself realizing and truly believing in Jesus’ sacrifice for my sins. I am not trying to limit God in saying that HE could have not saved me in Latvia, but I truly believe that His plan for me was to come and live in U.S.A., grow closer to Him and then share His love with others around the world. I have been able to do that through many mission trips I have participated in.

8. Tell us a little bit about yourself now. (Career, activities, family, etc.)
I know that God wanted me here in US because now I am able to show love towards many children in Latvia. Last year I started a camp for underprovided children. Children from poor families whose parents cannot afford to send them to a camp. This camp is free for all the children. Generous American donors give all the money for the camp’s expenses.

9. What do you hope your adoption story shows people?
When given a second chance, it has to be taken. Don’t waste your chances and then blame the past on your current failures. First of all, believe, truly believe that God can take care of everything and then run after your dreams. Don’t stay in your comfort zone for too long. It was not comfortable learning a new language, getting new friends, learning to love a new family, going to school, or anything else that was new to me. It was all very scary, but I believe it was all what God wanted me to do.

 

 

Anda, Arvis, & Jakeb 2014

 

Anda3
Jakeb

 

Anda2
Arvis
Anda4
Anda

 

Anda5
Family 🙂

 

 Want to share your Open Door adoption story with us? Email anna@opendooradoption.org

“Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being.”

James 1:27

wordpress banner

Leave a Reply

